Skip Navigation

Dedicated to Meeting the Demands of an Interconnected World

Austin International School’s educators, paraeducators, and staff members are committed to developing students who have the academic foundations, lifelong social skills, and international perspective needed to succeed in our global community. 

Meet the Executive Leadership Team

Ariane Baer-Harper

Head of School

Lara Schupack

Upper School Principal

Cédric Hervé

Lower School Principal

Nikl Burke

Director of Advancement & Communications

Mathilde  Sonnier

Admissions Coordinator

Natasha  Thomas

Business Manager

Meet our Board of Directors

Our Board's Mission

The Board of Directors is responsible for the general and long-term policies of real estate, fundraising, business and financial matters. This includes:

Legal responsibilities for the school’s activities

  • Preparation of the school’s mission statement
  • Review and maintenance of the bylaws and policies which are consistent with the school’s mission and the guidelines set by the State of Texas
  • Compliance with applicable laws and regulations
  • Approval of the school policy which the school’s administration implements
  • Accountability for the financial well-being of the school, including capital assets, operating budgets, fundraising, and endowment

Austin International School, a private school, is a registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors. Board members volunteer their time and contribute resources to the school. They do not gain monetarily or otherwise from any aspect of the Board’s activities.

AIS's Board of Directors benefits from the expertise of Austin community members and the insights of parent members. For the 2023-2024 academic year, the AIS Board of Directors is composed of the following members:

AIS' 5-year Strategic Plan 2023-2028

Dustin Hindman

Board Chair, Audit & Risk Committee Chair

Ed Kim

Vice Chair, Advancement Committee Chair

Gary Miller

Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair

Veruna Stanescu

Campus Planning & Arts, Culture Committee Chairs

Mahya Farnia



Jess Mateo-Smith

Governance & Marketing Committee Chairs 

Jon Sampson

Evaluation Committee Chair

Darcy Pedetti

Strategic Planning Committee Chair

Catherine Gavin

Joe James

Eric Horn

2023-2024 Board Meeting Dates

Unless indicated otherwise, board meetings start at 6:00pm CST and begin with a public open session; public comments are welcome at the end of the open session. 

Please check back prior to a board meeting, as dates are subject to change.

September 19, 2023
Closed Meeting

October 23, 2023
Open and Closed

November 7, 2023

December 13, 2023
Open and Closed

January 30, 2024
Open and Closed

March 5th, 2024
Open and Closed

April 16, 2024 

May 7, 2024
Open and Closed

June 4, 2024